Walking Pages Banner


Leicestershire Round

The Leicestershire Round is a 100 mile circular walk around the county, which can be accommplished either as a continuous long distance walk or as a series of day walks using public transport or a car. The guide divides the route into ten daily sections beginning at Newtown Linford and travelling in a clockwise direction.

The route passes through a wide variety of scenery from the rugged rocky area of Charnwood through the wide river valleys of the Wreake and the Soar up to the high and windy ridges of East Leicestershire and Rutland. Other attractions include the Iron Age hill fort at Burrough Hill, the Langton Hills with views over the rich pastures of the Welland Valley, Foxton's famous staircase of locks, a stretch of the Roman Fosse Way, the historic market town of Bosworth and the village of Shackerstone with its impressive 12th. century castle mound.

All of the Leicestershire Round has been improved and fully signed and waymarked by Leicestershire County Council.

In the guidebook the route is described in 10 sections as shown below. This is based upon the belief that a long distance walker can comfortably manage on average ten miles a day.
The section distances are:
Newtown Linford to Mountsorrel - 8 miles
Mountsorrel to Frisby on the Wreake - 11 miles
Frisby on the Wreake to Somerby - 10 miles
Somerby to Hallaton - 12 miles
Hallaton to Foxton - 10 miles
Foxton to Bruntingthorpe - 8 miles
Bruntingthorpe to Frolesworth - 9 miles
Frolesworth to Barwell - 11.5 miles
Barwell to Shackerstone - 11 miles
Shackerstone to newtown Linford - 11,5 miles

The guide book, which would be required to walk this route includes Ordnance Survey 1:25,000 scale Explorer map extracts with the route clearly shown. There are also many full colour photographs and contact information for planning transport and some suggestions for accommodation.

The guidebook can be purchased from our bookshop here


SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment

© Copyright 2000 - 2018 Walking Pages Ltd. and its associates. All rights reserved

Start: Newtown Linford

Grid Ref: SK 517102

End: Newtown Linford

Grid Ref: SK 517102

Distance: 160 km

Walking Time: 10 days

Counties Traversed

Explorer™ Maps
233; 234; 246

Leicestershire Round Guidebook

To purchase the guidebook from our bookshop please click on the image above